An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Rainy Days and Mondays...

Alarm went off at 7.15am.

At 7.16am as consciousness struggled to take hold, I became aware of the wind and rain outside.  Wild weather.  

At 7.17am  and only slightly more conscious, I became aware of another noise.

Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip. Drip.

7.18am and bolt upright in bed, wide awake, ears twitching to work out where the drip is coming from.

7.19am lights on, out of bed, curtains and blind open and drip located.  Fat drops of water coming from the top of the window frame and landing on the window sill.   

7.20am and wodge (technical term) of paper hankies stuffed into corner of window sill to mop up puddle and catch subsequent drips.

It's now almost 3.00pm and those first five minutes of the day are the most productive I have been!   Think I've been struck down with a dose of can'tbearseditis!

There's something about dark, wet and windy days, where you have to keep the lights on all day, that turns my usual snail's pace into complete inertia.  So much I could be doing but someone has sneaked in and stolen my motivation.

That said, I was motivated to use my camera on this lovely creamy rose, but couldn't resist converting it to mono (original in extras) as that seems to suit the day better.

On the plus side, over the weekend I finished watching the old video tapes we had converted to DVDs. 

 Oh my heavens!!  I laughed, I cried and I laughed till I cried!  Some of the stuff on there is SO funny!   But the best bit was seeing my mum and gran and David's mum.  That was so, so wonderful and so emotional.  And actually, what moved me most of all, was hearing their voices.   Oh what perfect noise.  It's always lovely seeing their images but hearing their voices was the next best thing to a hug.  

David's still to watch them and I've suggested he do so on his own the first time with tissues to hand.

Oh look, it's still raining and getting even darker.  Time for another cuppa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.