a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Naked men and pricky fruit

It was a day of little weirdnesses.

Having got off at Wynyard Station, I (and several hundred other morning commuters) found ourselves entertained by two jogging men, giggling like schoolgirls, both of whom were stark staring nekked. I shall leave it to your imagination as to how fast and desperately I dug in my handbag for a camera. Sadly, I was unable to get a decent shot. I did however pause to wonder where precisely on their bodies they tucked their housekeys.

At the very end of the day, after few photographic prospects had presented themselves and I had resolved on a very mediocre image, I received a photo via sms. Even now I am sorely tempted to upload that photo instead of the current ho-hum one. Some considerate stranger decided to sms me a photo of himself clad in nothing more than a furry hat, a smile and a greatly overrated sense of confidence. (Ladies, if your boyfriend sent you an sms pic and it didn't arrive, you know who's got it. And tell him that that much body hair is just not right.)

I am still giggling, but I have decided to do the right thing and delete the photo. Can't think what's prompted this sudden (no doubt momentary) sense of decency. Maybe I'm coming down with something.

As for today's photo...any of you familiar with durian fruit will probably have much the same reaction as I did to the notion of durian crisps/chips.

They say durian smells like vomit. This is not untrue. If you combined rancid vomit with the most pestilential cesspit in Europe, the resulting smell may indeed rival that of the durian. There is a good reason why the government of Singapore made it a criminal offence to carry durian onto trains, public transport and into public places, after all.

They also say that durian tastes sweet. If this is so, then this is an interesting new variant of the term 'sweet' with which I am not acquainted.

Who was it, I wonder, who came up with the purportedly brilliant idea of durian flavoured crisps? Worst marketing idea ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.