MONO MONDAY - MONEY

As we left Newmarket this morning, I saw the silhouette of this 15-foot tall bronze statue of a rearing stallion and its handler on the Stetchworth Toll roundabout.

I found out the following information about the statue - which was a wonderful sight:

The statue, which was sculpted by Marcia Astor and Allan Sly, was officially unveiled in 2000, and cost more than £200,000, most of which came from within the racing and thoroughbred breeding industry.  It was seen as a fitting Millennium gesture to recognise the role Newmarket had played in the breeding and racing of thoroughbred racehorses over the past 300 years.

I made a comment to Mr. HCB that it would make a good blip and he immediately went round the roundabout again, turned in by The National Stud, and stopped at the side of the road, where I was able to take this photograph.  

A great deal of money is spent on betting or “having a flutter’ each year, so I guess this qualifies my blip for MonoMonday this week, the subject being "Money"!

Eat your betting money
     but don’t
          bet your eating money.
Horse Racing Proverb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.