TINY TUESDAY BONUS

Bonus : an extra and unexpected advantage

We are now back home and I wanted to go out into the garden to see if I could find something for Tiny Tuesday.  

I was surprised to see that the Honeysuckle is still flowering well, so I took several shots.  Then I moved along to take some photographs of the Weigelia, and spotted this common hoverfly on one of the flowers - what a bonus - a tiny flower and a tiny insect.  The body length is said to be 12mm so that certainly qualifies it for Tiny Tuesday - it feeds on nectar, and there are plenty of tiny flowers on this bush to feed it for sometime.

Actually, according to Mr. HCB’s Complete British Wildlife book it is described as “extremely common” - but its Latin name is Syrphus ribesii, which doesn’t sound at all common to me - but I guess in the insect world, that could be as common as “Smith” and “Jones” - with apologies to any friends with those names!

Wandering around the garden, although it is November, there was still plenty of beauty around - we just need to open our eyes to see it.

Never lose an opportunity
     of seeing anything beautiful,
          for beauty is
               God’s handwriting.
Ralph Waldo Emerson


P.S.  Apologies for not commenting very much - we have been away, but I hope to catch up with you all soon.  M xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.