FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

It's the simple things

The temptation to tread on the fallen leaves was too great. I walked through the colourful leafy carpet on the pavement, shuffling my feet to make a swooshing sound.

The satisfying crispy crunch I experienced last week is replaced by a softer sound, while the golden brown and orange tones are replaced by faded orange, yellows and greens.

As I swooshed the leaves on the downhill walk to the train station the wind suddenly whipped across my face like a slap with a wet kipper, its cold touch reminding me that winter is firmly on the way.

After a long day stuck at my desk with no lunch and no break from the computer screen it was a relief to be outside enjoying nature - even if it was a few fallen leaves on the high street and not the beautiful 500 acres of Castle parkland which is my preferred escape to nature!

My village pharmacist helped me out today by agreeing to post a prescription through my letterbox on the understanding I'd post the cash through their letterbox in an envelope.

I love village life as it's like stepping back in time to an era when community meant so much. Well I guess in my village it still does mean something.

So on this miserable Monday it's the simple things that made me smile: leaves and kindness. I hope something simple made you smile today too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.