Maisiebeth

By Maisiebeth

Stark Raving Bonkers

So the forecast said gale force winds and heavy rain, so I do what every photographer does and head to the beach. No? Just me then!

To be fair I had been promised 11ft waves but I must have read the forecast wrong as they weren't that. The water at Hell's Mouth was wild certainly but not to that height. And no surfers to photograph either.

But undeterred I got to the beach, attached my new rain mac for the camera and headed for a walk. The rain wasn't heavy but it was being whipped by the wind and felt like needles on my face. There was a lot of spray coming from the sea and before long I was completely soaked. My waterproof boots aren't and neither are my waterproof trousers. 

Then I thought that I was already soaked I might as well do my 2 minute beach clean as I couldn't get any wetter!

So I get back to the car park and start to disrobe. The wind is so strong the car is rocking and I am sitting there in little more than a t-shirt and towel and the bag I carefully packed full of spare clothes is sitting on the sofa at home. The car is like a sauna as I am trying so hard to dry my clothes. It doesn't work. 
 
I took quite a few pics but absolutely none have come out well enough to share. Too much spray, mist and camera shake.

On the way back I briefly stopped at Llanbedrog and they have moved all the beach huts to the carpark for the winter, and I thought that this would make a nice colourful blip for today.

Final stop a squelch along the front at Criccieth, but when the sea went over my wellies and I found I didn't have a square inch of dry cloth to wipe my camera lens with I decided enough was enough and time to go home for a long hot bath!

Dramatic and Dangerous Places to Photograph for the Terminally Unfit, Navigationally Challenged and Stark Raving Bonkers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.