Fruit and Veg

Pavement displays like this are certain to catch my eye. I suppose it’s akin to the presentation you’ll find on a market stall and fruit and veg laid out for selection always have an appeal.
Okay, I admit that supermarket displays allow you to make your own choice in the same way, and I am not questioning anything in regard to freshness either way.
But there is just something about the manner in which a local greengrocer in any community displays his or her produce that is sufficient to entice me along when fruit and veg are on my shopping list.  With an imaginative display, even when it’s not on my shopping list.
There are limitations of course  — I recall driving past a butcher’s shop once which had cuts of meat and poultry hanging outside the shop.  Inside would have been just fine. But this was a hot spring day in a town where every passing vehicle threw up a cloud of sand dust.  Somewhere in Morocco!
I suppose though, that Christmas displays of hanging turkeys in butcher’s shops here do hold an appeal. In the same way you will find hams and salami, hanging in Continental butchers or a delicatessen.

For today though, all I wanted was new potatoes. Though the cauliflower did look appealing, as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.