Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Tiny Tuesday - Ladybird

I was weeding a corner of the garden when this little chap sat down on a rock beside me. I told him to wait while I got the camera -  which he did, although he had crawled into an awkward spot by the time I got back.

I had to do some fancy gymnastic manouvres to capture him.  About 3 mm long, this is the variety called 'Steel Blue which were introduced as a biological control for citrus insect pests in 1899 and 1905. They are a native of Eastern Australia. 

I was intriged by the reflections on the ladybird's shiny, dark blue wing covers The light blue reflection is the sky, the green is the tree above us and the black blob in the middle is me with the camera. The oddest selfie I have ever had.

I just wish he had been a bit more out in the open to get a better shot. I cropped it as hard as I dared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.