The second half of life..

By twigs

House painting, day 1

.....but first, the waterblasting to clean it.

J & M have agreed to be my house painters which is fortunate as I really really did not want to do it. They did theirs last summer and, J being a stickler for detail and perfection, will do a wonderful job.  M says he'll just do what he's told - J's the expert!  She began today with a bit of waterblasting to remove the old, flaky paint and mildew (and a few cobwebs too!).  As expected, the waterblaster found a few rotten boards so they'll have to be replaced.  You get that with an old wooden house.  Already it looks a whole heap better.  

Brent the builder came round late afternoon to look at the board replacement job.  We reckon there could be 8 or 10 boards that will need replacing but he doesn't see it will be a big job.  Hopefully they'll be done next week :)

I guess I'll have to decide on the colour soon  (I bought the paint a couple of weeks ago - it just needs to be tinted) so I headed out for a drive to see a house whose colours had caught my eye.  I guess I must have had something in my eye that day as they turned out not to really be the colours I'm thinking of.  Back to the test pots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.