The second half of life..

By twigs

Tui two

After a not-so-good night's sleep I was awake early so enjoyed a peaceful breakfast sitting in the sunshine. More reading too.

Another stop at my tui party place revealed very little so instead I headed up to Puponga and Farewell Spit. I had thought I'd walk along the inner spit for a while but the tide was so high there was precious little beach to walk on. Bad idea. Turned and headed back . . . . . having been away from home for last night's AB's v England I planned on watching the recording when I got home.

However, not far past Pakawau there is a beautiful 'avenue' etched into the bush and I remembered having seen tuis along here before (it's full of holiday baches - one or two for sale. Tempting !).

I drove to the end and parked - hadn't been out of the van 2 minutes before this puffed up wee fella chirped and sang to me from just a few feet above my head. Spent a good 30 or 40 minutes stalking and shooting him and some of his buddies (and a kereru). Got some great shots but stuffed up the camera settings so really, they're only 'great' in my mind :( Still, a great wee stopover.

Home then to watch the AB's beat England in a less than convincing encounter. England are certainly playing a tougher more positive form of rugby these days. Will make for an exciting Rugby World Cup next year.

Back to work tomorrow - bed now.

G'night.

Tui one here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.