Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

By request - a poem: Campervan

It's stopped raining and the wind has dropped so I'm responding to a request from blippers Surfgirl and FreckledFace for a blip of Lofty(the camper)'s back window with a poem I'd mentioned in a comment on another camper back window which was blipped.

I do write poetry from time to time, particularly haiku and more occasionally tanka, the former often linked to a photo and composed at the same time as taking the pic. However, this wonderful poem 'Campervan' is not mine. It is the work of a Bradford poet who blogs her, often very moving, verses under the name 'the optimistic pessimist'. She's also a very brave lady, as you'll discover if you look through her blog.

Of course I had to let Mini in on the pic, particularly as I've been blaming her for refusing to start a few days ago after the trip to The Lakes. Wasn't her fault: petrol had run out at just the minute she was parked up in the dark and rain over a week ago but, not realising that, I'd flattened the battery trying to start her. Today I noticed that the reason the battery was so low was that I'd left the interior light on.

In fact, it's all the fault of an idiot who, having been desperate to pass me for several miles, finally carved me up -almost causing a collision - at some roadworks traffic lights in the centre of Ilkley. No, he wasn't driving an Audi, just an Astra. If you drive a classic car you'll know that there is a gang of motorists who just have to get past an 'old' car, at any cost - their life or others'. They are most usually driving an Audi so I've concluded that the aggressive (I think ugly) design attracts particularly aggressive drivers. I know they can go faster (but usually left behind on the bends!).

Be that as it may, furiously flashing him I broke the dip (and direction indicator) switch so had a hairy ride home on the moorland road in the dark and pouring rain on full beam, much to the fury (rightly) of other motorists. Another job to do before back for an MOT retest.

I had intended to put back the map showing Lofty's 4,350 mile trip this summer. Took it out to amend the return journey but cannot find it for the mo'. You'll see the drive-away awning is still in the back following the trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.