Watch where you wee

In Latvia there is ongoing tension between the Latvian majority and Russian minority following decades of occupation by the Soviet Union. There is a freedom monument in central Riga erected by Latvians following independence but still parts of the country that would favour being part of Russia.

There are also lots of British stag dos who visit and embarrass themselves by passing out on the ground in pretty parts of the Riga Old Town. I got into a frustrating chat with a Latvian woman who was bemoaning drunk British people urinating on the freedom monument. I wholeheartedly agreed with her when she suggested police intervention was suitable, as that's a very disrespectful act here. When she inferred that urinating on Buckingham Palace would be a comparable act, I agreed again but because I didn't express complete personal outrage (not a royalist), it took all my energy to convince her I wasn't going to piss all over the freedom monument on the way home...

Riga has a big and interesting fish and meat market.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.