atoll

By atoll

Mock-Orange Under Microscope

Just when I was running out of blipping ideas, up turns today like the calvalry the first in a long line of Amazon deliveries, that will hopefully augment, improve and explore my little iPhone camera capabilities (and mine of course).

As it happens this little £10.99 and 60x microscope attachment has some breakage in transit so it is going back for a replacement, but it didn't stop me snapping these and compiling a mosaic on my Photogene² App (or maybe this could encourage my dishonest tendencies: i.e. take delivery, take a snap, blip it and return for full refund!).

Anyway, this is a series of close-ups of a wonderful old Mock-Orange or Philadelphus that is growing as a multi-stemmed tree-cum-bush in the middle of our back garden. I can't spot the exact species, but if anyone knows out there in Blip World I would love to find out. We also have a floribunda variety in the corner that is nice, but a bit too kitsch in its vulgar 'showoffyness' for my tastes (you know what I mean!).

The Mock-Orange only flowers for July, and heavy rain loses the petals very quickly, but boy the scent of it is undescribably good. You can even get a whiff walking along the footpath on the public highway. I wish I can take credit for it, but it was here and already very well-established in 1992 when we moved in. I reckon it must be 40 or 50 years old at least. It can look a bit straggly for most of the rest of the year. It has also featured in my previous blips here as it hosts all our bird-feeders and even a small colony of cute little Wood Mice that feed off those. It's a proper little sustainable Eco-System - kind of like a coral reef basically! See it here also on my Blipfolio.

Given it's Latin name, I suggest this might be enjoyed by listening to Marc Knopfler & James Taylor singing 'Sailing to Philadelphia'.

Hope you enjoy my friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.