TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The Elusive Peace Pole

This is the scene outside of my Chiropractor's office in Boalsburg. One of the things I like about this doctor is that his space has been lovingly decorated with things like candles, metaphysical books, spiritual tchotchkes, windchimes and twinkle lights...and a Peace Pole.
Now, in case you don't know what a Peace Pole is, it's a hand-crafted monument that displays the message and prayer "May Peace Prevail On Earth" on each of its four or six sides, usually in different languages. When you plant a Peace Pole in your community, you are linking with people all over the world who have planted Peace Poles in the same spirit of peace. If you'd like, you can learn more about Peace Poles and even order one for yourself here:  http://www.peacepoleproject.org/index.html
This particular Peace Pole is placed in somewhat of an awkward spot for photo taking. This is my second attempt at photographing it and the perfect angle is simply eluding me. 
I thought that shooting through this gaily decorated tree might be an interesting capture but as you can just barely see it standing there in the background, that didn't quite work out the way I had planned it to.
So, back to the old drawing board, as they say. Another day I will 'Give Peace A Chance.'

“You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one. I hope someday you'll join us. And the world will live as one.” 
― 
John Lennon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.