Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Chinese take out

This is my lunch for tomorrow. I don't have time to go get any and I am not confident that I can get lunch delivered to the school at the start of my 30 minute break tomorrow so I take lunch with me.

As I was eating dinner, I realised there is a very different manners, 'set of rules' here in China as you can imagine. But people seemt o be interested in the culture here so I thought I would list a few.

- It is OK for the family cat to be in the restaurant and sitting next to customers looking longingly at their food.
- smoking is allowed inside the restaurant.
- If it's hot.. slurp.. That will make it cooler. Slurping is not a 'frownable' offense.
- Picking your nose between bites is totally acceptable.
- If you don't want the bones, spit them on the table or the floor.
- In contrast to the previous 'rule', all phlem must be spat to the floor.
- The cockroaches are not unhealthy. They live here too.
- The 'hold your breath and hope' smell in the bathroom comes from the place next door.
- Of course you have to bring your own toilet paper
- Screaming out to the waitress is the ONLY way to get her attention and is totally acceptable. If she doesn't respond.. yell louder.

All of these things are REAL. BUT.. I don't feel in any way upset by them. They just have different rules to us. It's how things are. It's how they have always been.. They prolly see OUR manners as strange too.

The people are just like you and me.. Trying to make the best out of what we have. And they have less so I have an unending admiration for them.

EDIT: Yes the green things in the back are from McDonalds.. They fell into my pocket when I went there drunk one night. OK.. there are 2. From 2 different cities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.