Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Gum Wall

Respect for all those veterans today, Remembrance Day.   Most everyone still went to work..it's our #1 son's birthday too... but the schools had the holiday so this afternoon we found ourselves in between everyone’s work and soccer schedules (and my Tai chi)  with the 4 grands, taking the bus downtown to the Aquarium, where we haven’t been in a long while.  It was a beautiful day fortunately and we had a great time,  had a pizza snack at the aquarium before climbing back up through the Pike Place Market for more goodies.  AND sights.   Fiona had never seen the monkfish displayed at one of the fish markets…when a tourist comes along, a guy in back wiggles the string and its mouth opens and it sort of jumps.   This has been here since our boys were small..  Oh my. ( If I can get flickr to work, I’ll put some from the day on there…)

The other tourist sight of interest is the gum wall in Post Alley, under the market.  For 20 years this wall was a depository for unwanted chewed gum from theatergoers..  it’s become quite the attraction and it was decided that the wall was being eaten away by the sugars in the gum snd that 2200 pounds of gum would be pried off the wall with steam cleaners.   this is the second of the 3 days predicted  for this cleaning….men at work!   (and Oskar with a coke! sorry, Mom...)  I'm sure it will get recovered with gum soon....

more if you care….with photos... I'm sure I have some somewhere too....

And the extra is from the Aquarium, a much beloved and photographed otter bench over the years.  Fiona, who was here by herself for dinner talking non stop for what seems like hours, and putting a myriad of "artwork" up on the cupboard "art wall" for me to look at...wanted me to make the figures in this photo all grey like concrete statues, but I’m much too tired to do that so mono will have to do.  (she said that was OK)

Whew!   sorry about too many words....it did need a description.....and I need to go to bed...now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.