Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Veteran's Day

A gorgeous cold day —just had to be outside. A row with my friends J, a long walk with friend S to our book club group this afternoon. The book was The Enchantress of Florence by Salmon Rushdie… mixed reviews from this group of 8, only half of which read every word in this I think brilliant mix of history and magical realism about the 3rd mogul of India, Akbar. Our hostess has been to and studied Indian history so could fill us in on some of the history but it’s still one to reread and spend a lot of time on google to figure it out. It’s very funny tho -that kept me going when I was lost. She also prepared a wonderful Indian meal.

There was a wonderful story about the Tower of London Poppies on our national news last night. I did not see one poppy in Seattle all day and I do remember always having one. There are so many veteran’s from so many wars we need to remember.

It’s also our first son’s birthday- that was a distraction on 11/11/66.

The blip? a park on our walk I wasn’t familiar with. The Counterbalance Park, at the foot of one of Seattle steep hills where a trolley once climbed with the help of a weight in a tunnel under the street.. The trolley is long gone, the weight and the tunnel are still there.

Supposed to be below freezing tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.