Comparisons

I thought it might be a bit of fun today to place some of our insects into context.

This is a native bluebell (actually looks more like an English harebell to me), wahlenbergia sp., and the flower measures 3cms from petal tip to petal tip.  They only open in sunshine, closing up at night.

My main picture is of a regular honey bee doing a nose dive for the pollen,  and it's the same flower which played host to my little spiders from yesterday.  Suddenly the honey bee is looking very clunky :))

In extras, you see the same flower again, this time feeding a native bee Homalictus sp. which measures just 5mm long.

Thanks so much for your good wishes on my recovery from cataract surgery.  It's all going along swimmingly, but I can't stay too long at the computer at the moment - the screen is a bit bright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.