ABSTRACT THURSDAY

How can it possibly be Abstract Thursday again?  The days seem to be gathering pace now (not even going to mention the C word!) and I wonder if it’s because we don’t see as much daylight?  I  must admit that I don’t miss going out in the dark in the mornings and not getting back until it’s dark at night - in fact, what’s not to like about being retired?  

Busy day ahead today - Mr. HCB is taking me out this morning, then I’m meeting my friend, Caroline, this afternoon - as far as I am concerned, the housework can wait - and anyway, I am just getting over my cold, so disturbing the dust won’t help that - well that’s my excuse!

I had been planning to use this beautiful silk scarf for my abstract blip one day, and here it is - made for me by a lovely Blip friend - and I wear it often and when I do, I think of her.

It got me thinking about this community of people - from different parts of the world, and from different backgrounds, but with a common thread, our love of photography - and for some of us, our love of words.  I have met several blipping friends and it’s always a joy when one has a shared hobby.

Someone (a man, would you believe) said the other day that he didn’t like to write many words, as the photograph should speak for itself.  I agree up to a point, but for me, the words are important too and instead of bemoaning the fact that now I am retired, and feel as if I am on the scrapheap, as several ladies were saying last week in a national newspaper, by thinking about what I will write in my journal keeps my brain active.  

Mr. HCB does at least one Sudoku puzzle every day, and of course, when the weather is fine is working in the garden;  I take photographs, write my journal on Blip and also a blog - when I have time - and meet friends for coffee - we are both happy and content - what more could we want?

As we grow older,
     our Christmas list gets smaller,
and we find out 
     that the things
          we really want
can’t be bought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.