Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Shroppie (@ Bridge 11)

I had to have some blood tests first thing so was a little later than usual getting into the office.  It did allow me the opportunity to drive over the Shropshire Union Canal at Brewood, while the sun was still relatively low and in line with its path.  When I looked down from the bridge........well, I had to stop.

I had to wait for a few minutes for the sun to peep through again from behind the clouds but when it did it transformed this scene.  I really had thought the best of the autumn colour had gone, but this probably proves otherwise.  It might look as though I must be standing in the middle of the canal but this is the point where it narrows and goes under a tall bridge carrying the road some 15 metres above the water.  The engineer, Thomas Telford, used cut and fill to limit the number of locks required.  Here we are a good distance below the surrounding land which has helped the trees to provide this wonderful canopy above the canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.