Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just a bunch of leaves...

Another gloomy, drizzly day ... hard to find inspiration on days like this, at least for me.  So, this was a quick shot with the 300 mm lens taken of the last few leaves on our cherry tree.  I actually like the contrast of the rich, dark red leaves against the curved bare branches - there is something kind of graceful about it.  Anyway, straight out of the camera.
  
When I first went out this morning to get the paper the air was filled with the sounds of waxwings and robins.  Most of them were in the cedars or high up in the trees so at first look, I couldn't see them, only hear them.  Kind of cool and I found myself just standing outside for a while, soaking it up.  

No recent signs of bears so I've been cautiously putting two feeders out and am being rewarded with lots of activity.  Charlie spends much of his day peering out the window, softly gnashing his teeth, probably dreaming of what he would do to all those little birds if he could only get at them...  Fortunately for the birds, neither of our cats is allowed outside - all hunting is done through the windows.  

Thank you for the hearts, stars and visits on yesterday's orange spider.  Considering that a few years ago I would have gone screaming down the trail if I'd seen something like that, it is a shot I am very proud of.  Of course, in fairness, I took it with the 300 mm lens, so I wasn't that close! 

Happy Thursday, people... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.