A trip to St Jacob's market

Our first stop today was to a Ukrainian cemetery near to where my cousins live. The main purpose of the trip was to visit the grave of my second cousin (and my hosts' niece) who died in a drowning accident almost 30 years ago when she was only five.

The cemetery itself is very interesting because the text of many of the gravestones is in Cyrillic and  lots are decorated with three-barred east Slavonic crosses.  My second cousin's (other) grandparents were Ukrainian, hence the burial site. Our family's (French Huguenot) surname looks rather strange amongst all those from Eastern Europe.

Afterwards don_T and Cousin N took us shopping. First of all we stopped off at an outlet store, where don_T bought kitchenware and a dress. Then we crossed over the road to St Jacob's farmers' market. Some of the stall holders here are Mennonites, as are some of the customers, so we found it interesting to see these people wandering around in their traditional modest dress. I snapped this young Mennonite woman while she was making a purchase herself. She reminds me of a Vermeer figure.

We made a couple of purchases from a Mennonite elder who had brought his goods to market in a traditional buggy. don_T's blip for today shows me buying some apple butter at his stall.

Exercise today: Mr hazelh and Cousin N left the house at 04:50 to go rowing in the Credit River in Mississauga, don_T spent the evening at a yoga class and then spinning, but all I managed was a little walking (the shame!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.