Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Abies Koreana

My dream came true today. It was a very windy wet day, not a day for a daydream, really. There was something I really wanted to get for the holiday lodge from one of the garden centres.

The reason we chose to go today was that they were offering 20% off everything. I was disappointed that they hadn't got the seasonal place-mats to match the coasters I bought last time but I knew I could get them elsewhere, so no worries.

We ventured outside and came across small conifers being marketed as Christmas trees, well that is just what I always look for anyway - a compact pot-grown tree that will transplant into the garden at the lodge after a couple of years. I bought an Abies Koreana, something I've always liked.

Feeling happy with the best specimen in the display we continued to wander round. "I might have known you would be here!" said The Man as he caught up with me beside the water features. He knows that I have been admiring one of them ever since I started planing my Woodland Garden. I knew it would look great with my toadstools.

We stood and thought about the 20% off and decided to treat ourselves to it! I was thrilled! The assistant brought it to the checkout and I paid for it along with my Christmas tree. I took my till receipt feeling puzzled. 

I hadn't actually worked out what the total would be so accepted what I was told. The cashier joked about how much I had saved. I walked away studying the receipt. My water feature had been reduced by 50%!

I even got a free bag of bird seed AND I got the place-mats I wanted from the next place we visited. The day was going wonderfully until we got home and found Blip was down. Now that was really worrying! Must do that back-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.