My Restless Lens

By terri365

Day 1028 - Friday Night Living!

There was such a stormy sunrise this morning but I didn't have time to stop as I was delayed getting across the Kincardine Bridge.  The Clackmannanshire Bridge was closed to what I thought must have been an accident but later found out a man had gone over the safety barrier and into the water at about 3am.  I hope they find him...

I donned full waterproofs for the evening dog walk and I am so glad I washed and re-applied waterproofing to my jacket last weekend!

I have a weird friend that I go walking the dog with in the woods.  She is lovely but can sometimes be intimidating as she is really super intelligent.  And we don't always see eye to eye as she can be quite odd about things.  

So, I always take and wear my head torch and she always moans when she walks in front of me and she can't see anything and keeps saying can you walk beside me?  Yet she keeps walking on front...  She will walk in complete darkness and I think she expects me to do the same...  I refuse to give in to her though because if I don't use it I risk injuring my knee further - or something else!!!  Especially at the moment when it is so wet and muddy and slippy.

Anyway, this evening, we just got to the entrance to the woods and I stopped to put my torch on my head and she kept walking.  Then she slid and ended up on her butt.  I made sure she was ok - she said she was but she was a wee bit wet.  She had just finished telling me she had to buy new boots yesterday as hers were leaking badly so I gave a chuckle (a very small chuckle - not a laugh) and said "Well at least your feet will be dry!"

And OMG, she snapped at me and said "Why are you laughing at me? Why are you laughing at me?  I don't find that very funny."  I was so taken aback by how upset and annoyed she was that I didn't know what to say!  I said something along the lines of "I checked you were ok and you are.  It's just one of those things..."  

"But I'm not ok, I'm wet."  was the reply...

I just found the whole thing odd...  If it was me that had slid (and as long as I hadn't hurt anything), I would have laughed at myself!!!

She did move on quickly though but the conversation turned to Politics, Children In Need and rich people making a statement by "buying" the packages that are auctioned off on Radio 2 during the week before Children In Need and I think she was looking for a debate but I declined to rise to the bait because I found her views quite abhorrent...  And I got the feeling she wanted to have an argument after the "laughing" incident! 

Jeez, I was glad to end that walk tonight!

One thing we did agree on was that we didn't enjoy watching Children In Need, so I watched Mad Max: Fury Road with a bag of popcorn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.