My Restless Lens

By terri365

Day 1027 - A Big Gail

Clear blue skies and a gentle sunrise on the way into work this morning.  This was taken mid morning before Storm Abigail took hold.  When I left work, it was a bit windy but nothing to write home about!

They were saying on the news that the bad weather was to hit about 6pm but the Forth Road Bridge was already closed to high sided vehicles by 4.30 (when I leave work).  So...

I thought I would go across country to avoid the heavy traffic to Kincardine.  It was fine until I got through Kelty.  It was like someone had turned a tap on and a really powerful fan!  By the time I got to Saline, I thought I should head back to a better road - it was pretty wild - and diverted back towards Dunfermline.

There was so much flooding that I won't be surprised if my car doesn't start tomorrow.  Tried to go as slowly as possible through the deep water!!! 

Just as I was coming into Oakley, there was a really bright flash to the right of me and for a split second I thought it was lightning but it must have been some sort of transformer or power line because it was closely followed by a mini firework display!!!  The streetlights went out for a few seconds then came back on.  That was pretty scary!!!!  At that point I just wanted to get home...

By the time I got over the Clackmannan Bridge the weather was a bit more 'settled' and I manage to pry my fingers off the steering wheel...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.