roxannestones11

By roxannestones11

Cap number 1

This is possibly the worst photo I will ever blip (from a technical perspective). However, the subject and context will hopefully allow some slack to be cut.

I have lots of lovely cousins, all significantly younger than me and all with different characters and talents. One of them is Adam Henley, a professional footballer for Blackburn Rovers and Wales. I wouldn't really say I'm a football fan, but I love to watch him play, I understand the offside rule and I get very excited when we are lucky enough to go en famille to Ewood Park. My 10yo son wears his Blackburn shirt with pride at every opportunity, despite being on the wrong side of the Pennines :)

Adam has only very recently committed to the Welsh senior team having previously played U21. And while he has been named in the squad during the Euro qualifiers, he has had to be content with his seat on the bench.

This evening, Wales played the Netherlands in a friendly at the Cardiff City Stadium. Sadly, we weren't able to go, but thanks to good old Sky, we were able to watch BBC2 Wales here in Yorkshire.

With 26 minutes to go, Adam came onto the pitch looking in fine form and ready for action, so earning his first International cap. An immensely proud moment for all our family and I certainly had a little tear. Within moments, he was proving his worth, being instrumental in setting up the 2nd Welsh goal from a corner, a brilliant start.

The final result was 2-3 to the Netherlands so not everything went our way. But actually, I couldn't be happier, an historic day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.