EIS FELA Special Conference

I was through to Glasgow today for the EIS FELA Special Conference on national bargaining. We have recently moved back to national bargaining for colleges. Party of the principle of moving back to this when the government announced it was that pay should be like teachers and be harmonised across the country so that people are paid the same wage for doing the same job in terms of equality or fairness. Unfortunately the union position is that the first offer clearly does not reflect that and there is no harmonisation. As such we had a special conference to vote on a number of motions pertaining to the offer and negotiations.

It was a successful conference with all motions passed, I believe unanimously.

I wasn't in the best frame of mind for it as my pager went off shortly before three am last night and I didn't get home until ten to eight. I got through the conference though, albeit with the need for a couple of hours nap when I got back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.