An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Liberté, égalité, fraternité

I could barely read about or listen to the news reports about the terror atrocities in France.   The horror of it is almost beyond my comprehension. Those poor innocent people going about their lives, leaving home to go and enjoy a meal out with friends, clapping and cheering at a concert and suddenly their lives are wiped out.  For what?

I'm not religious but the words of Pope Francis say it all "I am shaken, I don't understand these things, done by human beings... There cannot be justification, religious or human. It's inhuman,' 


France is a country we as a family adore.  We have holidayed there almost every year for the past 20 years.  It's become a home from home.  Paris is my favourite city and the time I have been lucky enough to spend there has always been magical.   To see the images of massacre in that most wonderful of cities is heartbreaking.   My heart goes out to all those affected by this heinous and cowardly attack.


Everywhere I look in our house are mementos of our time spent in France.  Today my eye keeps going to the little sunflower tile on my kitchen wall, a reminder of the sunshine and warmth and kind hospitality we have always enjoyed in France.   It's my tiny tribute to those whose lives were lost last night and to those wonderful people opening their doors and home to anyone affected.   A reminder that good will alway conquer evil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.