Irony

Ironic that on the day when unthinkable goings on went on in Paris, such a beautiful French product should arrive here in Australia. As I picked up my gorgeous Laguiole cutlery set from the post office, I couldn't help but see the irony.

I'm a French teacher. I've always had an affiliation with France. I've been reflecting a lot over the past 24 hours. I know that my students will ask me what I think. They'll want some sort of assurance or consolation.

I can't give that to them.

What I can give them, I realise, is the beauty that France still has to offer. To show them that they needn't be afraid to visit this wonderful country just because some bullies with guns and bombs are flexing their metaphorical muscles, terrifying all those they come in contact with. 

My support for France is not to change my profile pic on Facebook, but rather to pray for those who need my prayers the most and to love this country I have always had an affiliation with.

Right now, every time I used my beautiful Laguiole cutlery, I say a prayer for all those affected by all acts of terrorism in the world. For all those who are suffering, be it from fear, loneliness, pain, grief or persecution. 

And I'll smile too, because there is so much good in this world and I want to remember that when times are dark.

That's just my ten cents' worth.

Night all.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.