Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Juxtaposition

Still catching up and as I haven't taken any photos for at least two days I'll probably bring myself up to date here as I often look back at my journal as a reminder of events in the past.


Morning: with Ann and a visit back to the chemo ward in Barnsley hospital for her Herceptin injection - apparently felt like a long bee sting but no after effects from the horrible chemo drugs!  Followed by supermarket shopping - the first time we've done a big time shop together for months!  Oh and our family doctor gave her the all clear to drive again so it means she can do some things independently again.
Afternoon:  I can't remember but probably not too much done - oh I ordered a NAS drive (finally got round to it) so I can back up my images properly.
Evening:  a visit with Jan to the opening of the Gertrude Hermes retrospective exhibition at The Hepworth Gallery in Wakefield.  Although I found some of her mark making/ cutting techniques really interesting I felt most of her work was probably better seen in book form (what they were designed for) rather than on the wall.  I did like the larger lino-cuts though.  It was also good to see the very large print produced by Merlyn Chesterman and friends (I forget the name of the collective they print as) - very impressive and rightly so, very expensive.  I enjoyed the two sculpture galleries much more (where I brought my camera out).  This blip was taken in the `Plaster: Casts and Copies' gallery.  There were several places where interesting juxtapositions of imagery could be found which I quite liked spotting, including ones on the Enrico David galleries.  I'll go back, I think, to look again.  Met several people I used to work with, including my college principal.

Friday:  busy day, they came to lay the new carpets (late) which pushed everything else late and made life a bit frantic - it's amazing how much disruption it caused.  All back and looking good now - and feeling wonderful underfoot.  I ended up feeling a bit stressed all day and didn't get far with setting up the backup drive.  Ann drove herself to her Hospice support group meeting for the first time - fantastic!.  
Appalling news coming in about the IS linked killings in Paris - I don't have the words to say how I feel, nor words to say how I feel about the refugee crisis and the appalling things that are happening in the middle east.

Saturday:  the news from Paris gets worse by the hour.  I'd booked myself onto a photographic day (Keighley Day) in Pontefract.  I got a lot out of the morning, excellent prints and useful things to say about being a photographer (like club photography isn't everything).  I just wish his relationship with his wife didn't come over as quite so patronising - I really  think we don't do some men any favours when we allow this to happen.  Other than that he was great.  Even so, I decided I couldn't cope with being in the dark space for the afternoon and left at lunchtime. Apparently the afternoon was very good but I have heard Adrian Lines speak before.  I needed to call in at mums and check the central heating before heading home in the rain and darkening cloud.  Once home and fed I managed to start my set up of the NAS drive  -still lots to learn about how it works yet and I messed up around passwords, letting my Mac password do the setting up and then forgetting to write it down - always some problems to sort out.  At least there is sun this morning as I write this, even though it's very, very blustery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.