Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Art and Fear!

I've been sorting through some of my past work trying to find two plates (also from the past) that I thought I might work on and modify using some techniques I learnt at Hot-Bed Press.  I came across these old prints from the trees series that didn't quite work and it reminded me that I was going to try one of the book folding techniques to introduce a 3D element into the process.  I tried using acrylic cylinders a while ago but the difficulty of cutting the acrylic put me off this as a construction technique and I then wondered about book art and paper folding.  This paper is a little too rigid and the folding techniques maybe a little too simple, but maybe it will work with softer hand-made paper.  Another one for the back-burner!  I was reading a magazine article on Creativity on the BBC website about how creative ideas need lots of previous failures in order to come up with something that's truly original - maybe I'll get there one of these days.  I've certainly got an awful lot of stuff now in folders and drawers that has never really developed into anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.