Work in progress

Catching-up - I've not been a good Blipper this week!


I chose not to go across to Hot-Bed Press last Monday as we'd just come back from holiday and I hadn't got my thoughts together about what I wanted to print.  Instead I experimented with ideas for another screen-print in the series `Waiting for ...'  It's been quite useful not posting this because it's made me come back and look at where I got to last week.  My thinking is to work on ideas that have a reference to an artists work but not to directly reproduce them.  Having seen this again with fresh eyes I'm wondering if I can take the image of the printers back into a smaller frame and set it on the wall of a gallery.  I'm kicking myself now because I've been  to The Hepworth Gallery this week and their wonderfully lit walls would have given me a blank background canvas on which to build the image.  I need to go back - though I think the evening image, without daylight, would have worked better.

I managed to get to the Christine Widdall talk at Stocksbridge Photographic Club in the evening which was excellent.  Particularly interesting for me because Christine does a lot of work on creating composite images, so does a lot of cutting out and selecting before using elements of photographs in her compositions.  I just wish I'd taken some notes now because she had some useful techniques which were just a little different from ones I've used.  It was just too dark and too late in the evening - a big regret now though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.