DERELICT SUNDAY

After church today, I am meeting my friend, Linda, for coffee whilst her daughter is at a Bulgarian School, so I knew I wouldn’t have much time today to go searching for something for derelict Sunday.

I didn’t have to look far, as I spied this motorbike out of our bedroom window, and went round to ask the owner if I could take a photograph - I would have just taken it, but I know he is on Facebook, so he might have wondered how I got into their garden!

It is a Honda Club 90 but I didn’t think to ask him how old it was - suffice to say, it fits with the challenge as "something in a very poor condition as a result of disuse and neglect" but it won’t be like that for too much longer, as according to his wife, it is his next project!  

I shall look forward to the day when this “derelict” motorcycle is restored to its former glory and may even blip it, if it doesn’t take him too long!

The connection to place, 
to the land, the wind, the sun, stars, 
the moon... 
it sounds romantic, but it's true - 
the visceral experience of motion, 
of moving through time 
on some amazing machine - 
a few cars touch on it, 
but not too many 
compared to motorcycles. 
I always felt that any motorcycle journey 
was special.
Antoine Predock

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.