The Late-Night Toasted Cheese Sandwich Frenzy!

A celebration of golden, beautiful, crispy, buttery, toasted cheese!

You know how it goes on the weekend. You wake up on Sunday morning, sort of stunned, trying to remember Saturday night. Maybe you check the pictures on your cell phone or camera, trying to remember what went down.

Well, this was among the images I found on my camera on Sunday morning. Aha, it all came flooding back to me: the Saturday late-night toasted cheese sandwich frenzy! Oh yes, I remember now!

I am a lover of comfort foods, and at no time do comfort foods sound better than when the days start getting chilly, and the nights start getting long. Got a case of the Novembers? Need a late-night snack? Is there anything prettier and easier to make than a toasted cheese sandwich? I think not!

This particular set of toasted cheese sandwiches is made from French bread and so the slices are quite small. They are loaded up with layers of provolone, cheddar (that orange in the middle), and American cheese, and then toasted to a golden shade in butter on the stove top in a frying pan.

I have heard of, and thought of, many variations on this theme. Sandwiches filled with ham and cheese, maybe. Or even fancier takes on it, like layers of ham and asparagus and cheese. I've been told the fanciest chefs fry their grilled cheese sandwiches in mayo; who knew?

When served with a meal, I like them dipped in hot and creamy tomato soup. However, for late-night snacking, I prefer them standard, and alone: make mine with just cheese, please! And toast it golden brown. And cut it in half and serve it melting and beautiful - yum!

I love food, and eating favorite foods makes me very, very happy. (Despite the fact that my husband complained a bit - "You're making WHAT? At this hour of the NIGHT!?" Where's his sense of culinary adventure?) And so the song to accompany this image is not about the picture that appears above, but about ME: Martina McBride, with Happy Girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.