Millbrook: Breaking Light After Snow Flurries

I hadn't been to Millbrook in a while, so I decided to stop on this morning. It was flurrying when I left for work, and I thought I might get to see some of the first snowflakes hitting the wooden boardwalk at Millbrook. I'd been out a few times this week with a light winter coat on and it just wasn't quite enough. So this morning, I was bundled up in my big Woolrich coat and gloves; and yes, I was plenty warm.

And there were indeed snowflakes at Millbrook. They were swirling in every direction and there were enough of them that I took shelter in the duck blind to get a few shots of the boardwalk and the golden grasses amid the snow. It didn't really stay, though, so any snow-covered shots of the boardwalk will have to wait for another day. There weren't really any birds to speak of out and about on this morning, which is unusual, especially for Millbrook, which tends to be a real bird haven.

As soon as the flurries stopped, I went back out on the boardwalk and watched the sky. The light was trying to break through behind the clouds, so I went down by Thompson Run to get a few shots of the reflections of the breaking light. It's one of my favorite morning activities: standing at the edges of things watching the light come. Even better, when there are reflections . . .

This is probably an odd tune to go with such a pastoral and peaceful image, but here it is. It's a favorite tune from the early 80s, and it's a song about sunshine. The Violent Femmes, with Blister in the Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.