Time Framed in Colors

And then suddenly, it got very cold. We've had some really lovely warm, almost summer-like days lately that it felt very unexpected to have them end. But these are the temperatures it's actually supposed to be this time of year. It is November after all.

I made a quick stop at the Arboretum in the morning to get a few shots of the remaining colors. The solar clock that measures time by the sunny hours only appears in the middle of this photo, and it is framed by the golden tree line behind it (that you've seen recently here and here), as well as by some red leaves and bushes and an evergreen in the foreground.

You know how it goes. You go somewhere so often that you just stop seeing it. And then one day, you walk in, and you stop in your tracks and say, Aha! There's the shot! And so it was with this one. This scene can be viewed at the very entrance of the Arboretum. Only recently did I actually see it.

I fear this may be one of the final photos I post of our lovely autumn colors. The golden leaves on the tree line in the back there are thinning out and the yellows are fading. And I walked to my afternoon meeting in snow flurries under darkened skies. I do love November, but it has that feeling of autumn turning to winter, harkening the end of our summer innocence.

The soundtrack is a favorite song of mine which was written by Bruce Hornsby and made famous by Don Henley. Both of these men perform it in concert and I love every version of it I have heard. So I'm including one with Don Henley on vocals (with Bruce on piano, of course), and one by Bruce Hornsby himself on both vocals and piano. Remember when the days were long and rolled beneath the deep blue sky . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.