November Sky

This is one of the many farm fields I pass in the morning on my drive to work. In the past week or two, a lot of activity has occurred in this field, as the farmer has used multiple large machines to create the bales that you see scattered throughout the field.

This is actually that same field full of bales that I intended to photograph one day last week, when I ended up showing you that charming little farm lane instead. The farm lane runs along that tree line to the left.

I don't know why, but I adore these things. The bales, that is. They are of a pleasing shape. Which is to say: round. I eye them up each day and appreciate the semi-random order of them. I watch how the light plays upon them. They cast neat shadows on the ground. They are especially lovely in the golden, late-afternoon light.

On this morning, there were many dark clouds, and the sun was trying to break through just as I drove by. And so I stopped. I had to, really. I had no other choice but to feed my soul's hunger. I needed a few photos of the bales, this field, the tree row, and the distant blue mountains against those amazing November skies.

The song for this picture has to be about skies. Now, I live in Pennsylvania, not Montana; Montana is more than a thousand miles away. But let's just presume for a moment that maybe the skies over the wide open spaces out West may resemble those we've seen on this morning. The tune is John Denver and Emmylou Harris, with Wild Montana Skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.