Flood Alert

A couple of months ago I was added to the list of people on call in the event of an emergency. My stint started on Monday and ends first thing tomorrow. 

So I have taken a great deal of interest in the weather forecast for the weekend, and river levels, and have had conversations with the Environment Agency and the out of hours team over the last 24 hours. Fortunately Salford's flood basin has not had to be activated, and I had a good nights sleep last night.

We went down to the Quays at lunchtime to have a look. A lot of debris has been swept down the Irwell and will need sorting (see extra). It is not pretty.

I was surprised to see loads of people - lots queuing for The Voice, lots there to see the Christmas Market and the Outlet Mall (the Frozen experience is a big bit with little kids).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.