Tilting at windmills?

This is a shot of the windturbines on the E314 in the direction of Leuven/Louvain when we were driving back from Valkenburg in Limburg (The Netherlands) this afternoon, where son no 1's field hockey team had an out game today. They won !

So, tilting at windmills. Earlier today a Facebook acquaintance posted a link to the most obnoxious video I have so far seen about the refugees coming to Europe and I am still fuming when I think about it. I won't give you a link because then I'm only doing what its makers want people to do, promote it even further. Apparently the video is going viral (in this case I think that is a very apt name for it). In short it has stitched bits and pieces together with inflammatory music and text to give the idea that there's an army of refugees streaming into Europe (won't surprise you that the images mainly show slightly to dark coloured young men)  running riot and advancing menacingly in ongoing streams at night. Apparently their aim is overthrow the original inhabitants or breed with the original population, I kid you not. Obnoxious xenophobic and racist stuff wanting to increase people's fear of the unknown. Just writing about it I am getting angry again. I so hope normal sense, normal reasoning will prevail and we won't see more of this utter crap. Sorry, but that's how angry I am (even angrier about the people who spread this stuff and put comments saying that life has become so much more dangerous since the refugees started to come over to Europe). Please let those who made this video and those who believe their message be the ones tilting at windmills.

Thanks very much for your comments and stars for yesterday's Blip. It's worrying to know that there are links between the Paris terrorists and  Belgium/Brussels, but again not giving in to fear and hatred is probably the best way to defy the terrorists' aims.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.