AviLove

By avilover

Lots of lettuce!

This morning started out as it often has for Friday harvest--with a whole lot of lettuce. The green leaf is our go-to lettuce; it is a very popular grocery store and restaurant order, and quite tasty too. It's usually processed first, both because it fills lots of orders and is more delicate than some of the other varieties. You may note the large leafy pile behind Dan and Vanessa that has yet to be processed--the harvesting, washing, and packing of lettuce can take literally the entire morning, sometimes longer. I can't say how many hours I've spent with lettuce in my hands--you might think I'd get tired of it after a while but it really is one of my favorite jobs here. I've never appreciated lettuce so much--I'll be sad to see it go as the weather continues to warm up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.