The second half of life..

By twigs

The paint goes on

I have a history of not being too good with decision making.  Deciding on what colour to have my house painted therefore presented some potentially frustrating times.  I've been aiming to make it a painless experience, keeping an eye open for house colour schemes that I like the look of for some time.  Gradually, my preferred pallette has slowly come to the fore until today, I had just 2 to choose from and they were only a quarter of a shade different from each other!  A discussion with M in the morning sealed the deal.  I'd be bold and go for the slightly darker shade.

Having decided on the bolder statement I was surprised to get a call from J who had hoped to begin the painting today saying that the paint I had bought was the wrong base for the darker shade but was OK for the lighter shade.  What to do?  The paint was bought when it was on sale.  It was going to cost quite a bit more to swap the bases over as it would mean I effectively lost the sale discount.  The obvious and easiest thing was going to be to go with the lighter shade afterall but after all the to-ing and fro-ing I'd been through I wasn't keen to step backwards.  To cut a much, much longer story short, and following quite a bit of discussion with a couple of local suppliers, it was agreed that I could exchange the 'wrong' base paint for the 'right' base paint and pay just the actual difference in cost.......in other words, I didn't lose the savings I'd made by purchasing early.  It seemed crazy to me but at least it was sorted with some time left for J to actually dip brush in to paint then sweep across a wall :)  Let the painting begin :)

Also today the builder had to undo the work he'd done on Friday. Brent the boss came round to inspect it and wasn't happy with what had been done.  The boards were removed and replaced with more rough-sawn boards so as to match the old existing boards.  And finally, when these boards were out it was clear for all to see that there were no insulating bats in the wall.  No wonder that side of the house is so darned cold!!  My bedroom side - a wee ice-box in the depths of winter.......nothing but a 25mm board and a sheet of gib board between me and the sub-zero temperatures outside!!  Maybe I'm touogher than I thought ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.