Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Derelict jam factory, strawberry memories

Floods were the obvious blips from around my home today but they resulted in me being an early morning 'taxi driver' as trains were stopped. After dropping off my 'fares', having battled with horrendous traffic, I decided to have a break and drop in to Macdonalds and, that being next to Aldi, decided to get my morning oats (horsefood variety - my breakfast every day except Sunday ) and some milk (which they did not have because of the floods).
However, despite the torrential rain overnight and widespread flooding it was a wonderful sunny, blue-skied morning so while parked up I thought I'd have a walk.
Just up the road is a now empty building where I spent many happy hours - eating impossible numbers of strawberries. Many years ago it was a jam factory, surprisingly the chimney still bears the name (because it is spelt out in white bricks, not painted), and in strawberry season it provided one of the many jobs my mother did to keep us fed. I and my siblings visited often as we were allowed to eat as many strawberries as we could.
Off in a hurry this morning to get people to work on time I didn't pick up a camera but I did have the iPad so decided it would be my blip and abandoned my idea for today's MM challenge. Unfortunately the name is visible only from the developed side so I have added a pic of the factory building as an extra. I must go back with a camera to get some better pix.
PS. Forgot to add that although it's not 'bricks in the wall' it is bricks in the chimney ;-)). Also in a hectic morning I also forgot to thankGoranZebuhr for hosting.
-——
I cannot leave today without mentioning again the Paris tragedy. I arrived home in time to join with all the others observing the minute silence. I found my eyes filling with tears.
It was not just for the Parisians of course but for the whole nation where I have spent some wonderful times, not only for leisure but also for work as the Port of Rouen was my client for seven years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.