The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Late night gudeg

I explored the city on my motorbike during the day and then met up with Johannes for an early dinner and drinks before he left on the night train. On my way home, I used the opportunity to visit 'Gudeg Pawon', a basic kitchen I'd read about which serves gudeg from 10.30pm onwards. It was a little out of the centre but even at 11pm it was busy with locals. They're not used to foreigners and they don't speak any English, so I had to point at what I wanted and using international sign language.

Everything was cooked using fire stoves and the name 'pawon' actually means "home kitchen". I loved how basic it was and the food was delicious too. These are my favourite type of food experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.