The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Earthquake in Java

For lunch I had 'lotek', a delicious vegetarian dish with peanut sauce, similar to the famous 'gado gado'. A massive storm hit while I was eating and the roads flooded. Luckily it had stopped by the time I finished eating and the sun came out in time for my drive back.

At about 6.45pm, I was sitting in my room and the building started to shake. I looked at the walls and floor to make sure it was a solid building (and it wasn't just someone jumping around in another room). I quickly realised it must be an earthquake even though I think it's my first experience of one. It lasted for about 10 seconds and it felt quite strange.

I went outside and the only person around, one of the family staff at the homestay just looked at me and said "it's ok". I said "earthquake?" and he repeated "yes, it's ok". I went back inside and looked on Twitter and found lots of people talking about it. Initially it was marked as a 5.7 magnitude but that was later changed to 5.9. Luckily it was over 100km away and nearly 100km deep so it wasn't strong enough to cause any damage or injuries. Given that no one was hurt, it was quite exhilarating.

I was given a recommendation for some really spicy local food called 'oseng oseng mercon', a beef stew with lots of chillies. It made me sweat loads and I had to order a second iced tea but I easily coped and it was worth it! This lady was serving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.