Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Mulled wine.....

I'm working from home for part of the week. I got up early and did my quota which gave me most of the afternoon free. I decided to head into the city to have a look around the Christmas Markets. They had started on Saturday but the weather was bad and the crowds would have been enormous. A must better idea is a mid week visit when there are enough people to give it a buzz but not so many that it becomes unpleasant.

I have a yearly ritual where I go to a stall selling mulled wine. It's in Albert Square and is run by two ladies from Luxembourg. They have been coming for 16 years and they didn't disappoint. There they were in their usual and, doubtless, lucrative spot. I had a chat and bought my wine. You pay a deposit on the cup your wine comes in but I always keep the first as a souvenir. Here it is under Santa. At night the Town Hall is lit in red, white and blue at the moment to honour the city of Paris and the people who lost their lives in the atrocity of Friday night. A sad backdrop to our festivities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.