Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Hug me

Arms. I see arms. I see arms spread wide asking for a hug.

I think how another person might see arms spread wide giving a hug, or arms spread wide conducting an orchestra, or arms spread wide in a yoga or a tai chi pose. 

Maybe someone else sees something menacing... Now I've made myself think about it, I'm seeing a giant fern shape chasing someone. 

And then there are the people who just see a tatty bit of dead fern. I'm sorry for your empty imagination.

All I know is that everyone sees everything differently but a bit of imagination isn't just fun, it's useful and it's important. And it's important to think about how we're all coming from a different place and a different history with different understandings of what's put in front of us when we try to make sense of stuff. 

Apparently autistic people aren't as capable of seeing that other people can think differently. That's bullshit. I think you'll find its some people who struggle with that level of imagination of all kinds of neurodiversities but that people like to use the empathy shit to bully autistic people. 

What do you see? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.