Bob and Caley

It was a desk day with a brief morning walk with the yellow boys while the girls did their run.
I had a traumatic  situation to deal with. I know there are many blip folk out there who with their day to day job will see people in trouble, injured and in distress and their professionalism and training takes them through it. I have total respect for them.
I found a young deer that had tried to jump a stock fence and had its back hoof caught in the top strand. Worse it had sort of pulled the top strand down and trapped it below the second strand. The hoof looked horrifically injured, with the animal lunging its full weight forward repeatedly in an attempt to escape, though there was very little blood. I used my camera pole to lever the taut wires in the other direction trying to get the pressure of the hoof. When free she lunged forward rolling over awkwardly and stayed on the ground briefly then got up and limped away in to the woodland. After it was gone I realised I was shaky and squeamish.
Later I spoke to the estate manager on the phone and told him what had happened. Apparently he had seen this before and he was able to tend a young deer back to full strength. A horrible thought but I was also worried about the animal being weak and easy prey for a fox. I may hear more about it. Hopefully there will be a good outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.