One egg, or two!

I was always brought up with that old marketing adage in mind “go to work on an egg.”
Sure enough, when there was time, that was a belief close to my heart. Whenever I left the house after a nominal slice of toast, or even having skipped breakfast altogether, I invariably had the feeling halfway through the morning that something was missing.
A full English is one thing, yet there is nothing quite as satisfying, or inviting, as a boiled egg and soldiers! Well in this case it was not soldiers, but rather a baguette which held equal appeal.  Well, almost, because you cannot dip a crusty baguette into an egg, like you can fingers of toast.
My wife asked for her egg to be hard boiled this morning, so that she could slice it and have it on crispbread.  Healthy option perhaps, but I felt rather smug that my egg was the more inviting of the two.  Well, three actually, because an inviting sight like this persuaded me that I really should have two eggs.

If only to finish up the baguette, you understand!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.