kwchas

By kwchas

Beluga

Just like yesterday it was another quick reaction blip today  

Yesterday I had to change the lens and shoot through the window. Today I had the advantage of the right lens but it was an unexpected appearance and I knew I had to get outside to photograph it and had to quickly find my keys and unlock the door. Under the circumstances it is amazing that I got a single shot as I saw it approach while working on my laptop and it quickly disappeared into the low cloud. 

This is one of five Beluga aircrafts which are used to transport wing parts from the Airbus factory at Broughton to Toulouse, Hamburg and Seville. Broughton is on the Welsh border and we are on the flight path so it is a regular sight as it comes in to land and I normally see it several times a week. Unfortunately there is no timetable so appearances are completely unpredictable. 

I have just missed it on several occasions, and the path itself can vary, but today the route was perfect as it flew overhead. I almost got it last week when I was by the River Dee as I heard it take-off but it was too far away to get a good picture. 

It's a pity the weather conditions were so dull but hopefully I will photograph it again under better conditions.

With the number on the tail I think it looks like something from Thunderbirds.

Edited to say that I also blipped it again as an extra on Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.