Workride #16 Allerton Road West

It was quite pleasant cycling to work this morning.  The big puddle on Bents Lane which soaked my feet yesterday had receded (thank you Jen and Pete for my Sealskinz socks which kept my toes warm inside soggy trainers) and the roads were pretty much dry.  However, Storm Barney was due in this afternoon so I had planned to leave work a little earlier than usual.  Unfortunately an issue arose which needed attention so it was a bit blowy when I set off.  By the time I reached the top road the side wind was a real issue and then along came the rain!  I stopped just beyond the Duke of York in the shelter of a wall and rang Tony, then walked, freewheeled down to Harecroft till Tony arrived with the car.  Home safe and sound if a bit soggy!

So, to my blip.  Leaving behind the Duke of York, I turn left on to Allerton Road which means back in to traffic.  Just beyond the junction is this track to a farm which gives this excellent view of Bradford beyond.  Often, on my way home, there are two very noisy Alsatians baying at me from the other side of this gate but thankfully not this morning.  From this point my workride follows the twinkly lights all the way to the main junction at the top of Allerton...and serious traffic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.